· 

NOVA社新刊 Recrystallization (再結晶)の出版について

ほぼ2年前,出版社のNOVAより

「Dear Dr. Yoshida,
We have learned of your published research on recrystallization and would like to invite you to participate in our publishing program.

Your submission of one or more original research or review chapter(s) for our upcoming hardcover edited collection (by selected invitation only) tentatively entitled:

Recrystallization: Types, Techniques and Applications


The deadline for the abstract is March 10, 2018 and for the completed chapter June 10, 2018. Please send the abstract and the chapter to nova.main@novapublishers.com. Inclusion in Nova's edited collections is without charge to authors. 」

を受け取りました。

 

なぜ私のところに案内が来たかはわかりませんが,この数年間,純アルミニウム中の不純物の回復・再結晶に及ぼす挙動を調べICAA国際会議や軽金属学会の軽金属に発表していましたので,これをまとめて発表するにはいい機会だと考え,早速アブストラクトをまとめて送りました。

 

出版社のNOVAについては30年前,八重洲ブックセンターでロシア人研究者のV.K. Grigorovich の英語への翻訳本" The Metallic Bond and the Structure of Metals"の本を購入したことがあり知っていましたが,我々の分野ではあまり知られていないので少々気になりました。ネット上ではいろんな評判があり不安もありましたが,私の大学時代の友人の一人が「私も執筆したよ」という話を聞いて安心しました。

 

4月になって編集者の西安交通大学のKe Huang教授 (http://gr.xjtu.edu.cn/web/ke.huang/c.v.-english) から次のようなメールが来て「I am glad to inform you that your proposed abstract has now been accepted since it fits well with the scope of this book. It is our pleasure to have your contribution in this book. 」,私の論文の採用が決まりました。その後7月30日がデッドラインということで必死になって原稿をまとめました。元々,軽金属に発表した4つの論文をまとめたもので,英文にするのに時間を要しました。その年の12月までに引用文献の書き方についてChicago Styleで書くように指示があり,修正して送りました。その後さらに図面番号の書き方で修正があり翌年2019年7月に再度修正原稿をKe教授と出版社に送りました。

 

原稿が出版社に送付された後は出版社とのやりとりが続きました。9月に初校が送られてきて,本の全体の概要が出版社のネットに掲載されました。一緒に掲載される論文と著者を知ったのはこの時が最初であります。私みたいな無名の著者もいれば学会で著名な先生もおられることがわかりました。

https://novapublishers.com/shop/recrystallization-types-techniques-and-applications/

 

目次は以下の通りです。

Preface

Acknowledgments

Chapter 1. Deformation Microstructure and Recovery
(Tianbo Yu, Department of Mechanical Enigneering, Technical University of Denmark, Kgs. Lyngby, Denmark)

Chapter 2. Applying Electron Back-Scattering Diffraction Map Segmentation to Recrystallization
(Azdiar A. Gazder, Ahmed A. Saleh and Elena V. Pereloma, Electron Microscopy Centre, University of Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia, and others)

Chapter 3. Recrystallization and Grain Growth upon Annealing of Cold Worked Austenitic Stainless Steels
(Meysam Naghizadeh and Hamed Mirzadeh, School of Metallurgy and Materials Engineering, College of Engineering, University of Tehran, Tehran, Iran)

Chapter 4. Modeling of Recrystallization of Commercial Particle Containing Al-Alloys
(Knut Marthinsen, Ke Huang and Ning Wang, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway, and others)

Chapter 5. Recovery and Recrystallization Process in a Commercially Pure Aluminum: The Role of Dissolved Impurities and Analysis by a New Kinetics Theory
(Hideo Yoshida and Mineo Asano, ESD Laboratory, Nagoya, Japan, and others)

Chapter 6. Interaction between Recrystallization and Phase Transformation in High-Strength Steels
(Chengwu Zheng and Dianzhong Li, Shenyang National Laboratory for Materials Science, Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences. Shenyang, China)

Chapter 7. Numerical Modeling of Recrystallization in a Level Set Finite Element Framework for Application to Industrial Processes
(M. Bernacki, N. Bozzolo, P. de Micheli, B. Flipon, J. Fausty, L. Maire and S. Florez, MINES ParisTech, PSL Research University, Centre de Mise En Forme des Matériaux, Sophia Antipolis Cedex, France, and others)

Index

 

出版社からは本を出版すると幾つかの特典があるから参加しないかという話がきました。本に関しては1冊著者に送ってきますが,他に必要な場合は30%引きで購入できるとのことで4冊購入しました。一冊が定価で23000円もするものを何冊も買う余裕がありませんでした。その他に著者が1500ドル支払うことで100人分の無料でできるダウンロードサービスOpen Accessがあるという。このシステムはなぜ著者が支払うのか,自分の論文を宣伝する上ではいいのかもしれませんが,どの程度メリットがあるのかよく理解できなかったので未だに参加していません。出版社によれば次に出版する時に有利になるとのことです。

 

今年2020年の1月,うれしいことに出版社のNOVAから新刊のeBookのPDFが5日間期限付きでダウンロードができるサービス付いてきました。ただし紙媒体にはコピーできませんが。これは軽金属学会員や同僚,知人に広く宣伝してPRさせていただきました。これでどれだけ本を購入する方が増えるかわかりませんが,これくらいは協力しないといけないと思いました。そもそもこのような学術書が何部売れるのだろうと考えてしまいます。最初から印税ということが契約書にないので,とにかく学術書を出版したいという研究者には向いているのかもしれません。そして3月新刊が送ってきました。執筆の案内がきて出版まで2年かかりました。多分,編集者が大変だったと思います。Ke 教授に感謝!